Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dylanangel2001

Can this violet be saved?

dylanangel2001
14 years ago

This is a violet my mom has had since my wedding 3 years ago, and it's not doing well at all. I have taken charge of it, but since I'm a beginner I'm having problems diagnosing it. Can I get some help of what to do? Thank you!

P.S. - Here are some links to pics in my fotki album.

http://public.fotki.com/DylanAngel2001/violet-/hurt-violet-1-jpg.html

http://public.fotki.com/DylanAngel2001/violet-/hurt-violet-2-jpg.html

http://public.fotki.com/DylanAngel2001/violet-/hurt-violet-3-jpg.html

Comments (7)

• snappyguy
    14 years ago

It certainly looks like it can be saved to me. First I would remove any dead or dying material from the plant. I would repot the plant into a 4" pot using a 1-1-1 mix of perlite, vermiculite, and peat moss. Then water using a light fertilizer like Optimara African Violet fertilizer. Give it time and it should come back. Others might give you some somewhat different advice.

• carol222
    14 years ago

I would put a leaf down in some slightly damp soil and put in in a baggie, just to be on the safe side. If the mother plant makes it, then you can give the new baby plant to your mother.
    Carol

• irina_co
    14 years ago

D -

I would go with Snappy's advice - just much smaller pot.
    I would use the mix Snappy recommended for sure - or get some African Violet mix - and split it in half with perlite.