Return to the African Violets Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What "type" of AV flower is this?

Posted by plantomaniac08 8 (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 4, 14 at 13:19

I purchased this Optimara AV at a grocery store today. I'm a bit of a novice and despite looking online, I can't find what "type" of AV flower this is. The purple is showing up a bit darker in the picture than it really is in person. Unless my eyes deceive me, I am counting eight petals total.

Thanks,
Planto

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What "type" of AV flower is this?

Optimara.com Go to "variety Identification" to find a match! Good luck! JoAnne

o

The shape of the flower is a semi-double pansy. The pattern on the bottom 3 petals is a thumbprint, narrow petals and asymmetry of the blossom reminds me of the wasp type flower.

Looks like Optimara 'Hiroshige" to me.

I think Optimara calls the color pattern bi-color - which is generic to everything that is not a single color.

o

JoAnne,
Thanks for the advice. I did go to their website, but I was hoping I could narrow my search down by the type of flower.

Planto

o

Irina,
I didn't see your message, we were typing at the same time it seems, hehe. Thanks for the detailed description.

Well, I'll be darned, it is "Hiroshige"! Thanks so much for the ID.

Planto

o

It can be gorgeous - or it can be bleached to so-so. Depends on a plant you get. Right now - it is a pale version. Hopefully with home care it will brighten up.

o

Irina,
Thanks again. I noticed two different pictures of 'Hiroshige' on Optimara's website and they looked like two different plants! Your comment explains the reason for that; I didn't know it could have such a variation in color. Hopefully it will have the color of the one picture some day, it looks like someone took a paintbrush to the flowers. I think I've fallen in love.