Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marty_1

Hairy discolored poorly growing stunted centers

marty-1
10 years ago

My plants are in a light stand and most are doing well. But I noticed 4-5 plants w Hairy discolored poorly growing stunted centers. The plants are on matting which is on plastic grids above the water w the ends draped into a solution of filtered tap water, 1/8 tsp dynagrow 7/9/5, and 1/2 tsp physalis 20 per gallon.

Comments (12)

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

Marty,

What are the varieties of the violets you are concerned about? Are they all the same? From the picture, your centers do not look stunted but the color is unusual. I have had violets grow with color on the new growth especially with variegated varieties.

Linda

• quimoi
    10 years ago

I am no expert but have had a few funny looking centers this year. There are two things that I've wondered about and that is too much fertilizer and getting too chilly.

Not all varieties tolerate the same conditions, especially when it comes to temperatures.

Hopefully someone more expert will chime in. It does look variegated to me though too.

Diana in PA

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

Marty,

Too much fertilizer can affect the crown. Do you flush out your violets on occasion and/or give them a period of no fertilizer? Most growers fertilize weakly for three weeks and then use plain water for the fourth week.
    I think your centers look fine but it would help to know the varieties.

Linda

• marty-1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks to everyone for your helpful comments. The centers may not be stunted but the color is funny and they aren't growing normally. It has affected: best friends, rob's lil ballerina, and robs love bite; I don't flush plants and fertilizer is constant in the trays. Could it be a fungus? In not sure if this plant has the same thing?

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

Marti,