Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluemilo

Advice on Repotting My AV

bluemilo
16 years ago

Hello All! I am new to the AV world - I have 5 plants, all bought at the grocery store - I have had them for about a year now and I want to repot. OK, so 2 questions - I bought 4" unglazed clay azaela pots - nothing fancy. Now I am seeing that plastic is preferred. I really want to use these pots, but I don't want to kill my plants either! Also, I bought Miracle Grow African Violet Potting Soil, and I read that I should add something to it - I'm looking for a "recipe" so that I can use what I have. An aside - I have put off replanting because I am afraid that my guys will all go into shock and die! (I guess it's the theory that I should leave well enough alone!) thanks in advance!!!

Comments (5)

• robitaillenancy1
    16 years ago

Most growers use a 1-1-1 ratio of peat moss, vermiculite and perlite. The AV potting soil is too heavy as it is and should be cut with one part each of the product, vermiculite and perlite. Otherwise water doesn't drain correctly and rots the roots.

When repotting, put each plant into a plastic bag for extra humidity for about 4=7 days. This should keep them from the shock of transplantation.

They should be just fine after repotting.

Nancy

• bluemilo
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks Nancy!

Is vermiculite and perlite expensive? And do you know if it comes in smaller bags?

Also, I'm intrigued by the plastic bag method - Should I change the soil first, then put it into a bag, and then into the clay pot?

courtney

• lilypad22
    16 years ago