Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pembroke_gw

has anyone tried this?

pembroke
10 years ago

I was wondering if anyone has ever split the main root stem into halves and repotted having two plants? Just wondering, too much cold time. Be glad when warms up. Pembroke

Comments (17)

• quimoi
    10 years ago

Um, I can't say that I have ever heard of it, but I can't imagine why you'd want to do it that way? It seems like you'd probably get two misshapen plants. Did you have some particular reason in mind? I guess you could try it - once.

I'm doing some strange things myself because it's so cold out and I'm bored though.

Diana

• christine1950
    10 years ago

Pembroke, I'm new to Av's and I'd like to know if its done as another way to propagate. Spring is coming soon!!!

• paul_
    10 years ago

â¢Posted by quimoi z5 PA
    Um, I can't say that I have ever heard of it, but I can't imagine why you'd want to do it that way?

I could see someone trying that if they have a double crown plant. Doing so could potentially result in each half having a root system right off the bat as well as a reservoir of food to draw from while each half recovers. No reason at all that one should expect to wind up with two misshapen plants -- assuming that the stem portions would be buried.

The biggest concern would be fungal or bacterial infections -- but that is no different than when doing leaf cuttings in general. Use a clean blade to make the cut, trim away any dead material, dust lightly with a rooting hormone and/or a bit more heavily with cinnamon. Keep the media barely moist and the plant in a warm bright area (no direct sun). Should be completely "doable". Heck if mine could handle getting chopped down like this:

{{gwi:358965}}

then I don't see why a split would be an issue. (And for those who are curious, I didn't even bother treating the cuts on the plants above with any anti-fungal agent.)

• irina_co
    10 years ago