Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happy_tomato

Blooming plant with dying new leaves?

happy_tomato
11 years ago

*****I've added an update to my below thread since the initial one 2 months ago. Please scroll down to see! *****

Hi all,

I'm still a newbie at this so thanks in advance for helping!

I have a blooming AV plant where almost all newly grown leaves since the bloom starts dying... they start having black bruises/edges then dries up from the side and dies.. i tried trimming those first few that appears but it it seems that the problem is still there for all new leaves. The older bigger leaves on the outer layer doesnt seem to be affected. Would anybody know what could've caused this? Is the plant stressed from the blooming? or hv i used too much fertilizer?

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated! =)

Bonita

This post was edited by Happy_Tomato on Sat, May 11, 13 at 5:08

Comments (11)

• Leafhead
    11 years ago

Sounds like fert burn, esp if you just fertilized.
    How did you fertlize and what did you use?

• happy_tomato
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I used a brand called pokon for flowering plants. I followed the instructions and diluted it in water and watered the plant as usual. I did that possibly a month or so ago already though.. =(
    If its really fert burn what should I do? Hv I killed my plant?

Thanks again!!

Bonita

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    11 years ago

Bonita,
    I am not familiar with this brand of fertilizer but make sure that any fertilizer you use does not have nitrogen obtained from urea. The label should state if it is urea free. Urea nitrogen will burn the roots of AV's.
    If you suspect fertilizer burn, run water from the top of the plant until it drains freely from the bottom. You can also re-pot, working as much of the old soil as possible from the roots before you plant it in fresh mix. This works best if the soil is fairly dry.