Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caliloo_gw

Grocery Store find - 'Romance'

caliloo
13 years ago

I spotted this one in a tray of AV's that were being carried into my local grocery. It is the only varigated one they had, and I decided since I am a newbie, I could justify buying another NOID. Much to my surprise, there is a nursery tag in it and it is from Woodhill Greenhouse and the name on the tag is Romance. I presume this is an older common variety, but to a newbie like me it is a great find LOL!

Anyway, I hope you don't mind my sharing.....

{{gwi:361603}}

{{gwi:361605}}

Thanks for looking!

Alexa

Comments (12)

• irina_co
    13 years ago

Alexa - my guess it is "Optimara Romance". But it is just a guess.

"Romance" in master list is lavender blue and not variegated.

Irina

• quimoi
    13 years ago

It does appear to be Optimara Romance and I don't think it's especially common. If you price it on Selective Gardener, I expect you'll feel quite happy with it ;).

That's interesting that this Canadian distributor is in Pennsylvania now. I found O. Romance and O. Modesty at Lowes a few years ago and they were both nice plants. They both collapsed in the midst of a summer heat wave and I lost Romance but saved Modesty. I could have replaced O. Romance later, but I had more pinks with variegation than blues.

O. Modesty is a very nice plant and I grow it in the window and under lights. It can be just a bit touchy at times so I now keep a spare. I think I've had it do the "collapse" thing once or twice again. No doubt it's something that's my fault. Other than that, it's an easy and lovely plant and Romance was a big, pretty plant when it went. As I recall, it was very hot in their room at the time.

Thanks for sharing your find. I suppose I'm an oddball, but unless you show, trade, or sell, the plants seem much the same whether you put the name on them or take it off.
    Good plant with no name = good plant. Bad plant with name = bad plant.

Diana in PA