Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbienew

buying african violets

newbienew
14 years ago

I'm looking to buy my first african violet. I'm new to plants in general and have so far tried azalea, hyacinth and foliage.

The AV would go in a north window.

Under what condition should I buy an AV?

My local store has them for sale, but not in the best of condition. They've already bloomed. Each of them has a withered flowered or two. (Are these plants worth saving or are they already dying?)

Very sorry if these are stupid questions!

Comments (21)

• Oakley
    14 years ago

Glad you made it over here! I've been growing them for all of a month,lol.

You'll need a grow light for them. See my topic I did today where I added a picture of an AV on a table with a regular table lamp but it has a fluorescent bulb.

If the only problem with the plant at your store is that it's losing blooms, that's to be expected.

You'll get a lot of help here. Also do a Google search on "How to Grow African Violets." There's a ton of info out there on the Net.

• newbienew
    Original Author
    14 years ago

So... are these AVs worth buying then? Will the blooms recover?

• davemichigan
    14 years ago

I think if they leaves look ok, that is, they don't look dead or dying or terribly stressed, that it is ok. You will get new blooms although it might take a while.

I like bargain flowers like that to... bought 3 AVs this week for $2.50 each. One or two of them might be chimeras.

• nwgatreasures
    14 years ago

Hi, and welcome to the board.

Only you can decide if they are worth buying (or losing what you paid for them)

Pull the root ball up out of the plastic pot and make sure you don't have little white bugs (mealy bugs) in the soil. Check the leaves for white bugs. If it's clear, then they probably are worth the $2 or $3 cost.

Bring them home, remove the outer ring of leaves, repot them into some AV soiless mix and then bag the plant for a few weeks.

Keep us posted and good luck,