Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ssnoozen

Getting cuttings back into soil

Ssnoozen
12 years ago

Hi -

I was out of town last summer and left a coworker watching my AFs. They were over-watered, and very sad when I got home. I cut off their heads and re-rooted them, and got one back into dirt and it is gorgeous! The other looks good, too, except when I try to put it back into dirt. Twice now I have tried to transplant it, and after a couple three days it's all droopy and sad. I put it back into water and after three or four days it's all happy again.

I got a new bag of violet mix. It has a great rootball. It makes no sense to me why this plant is happier in a bowl of water than a pot of dirt. I'm no expert, but I've had violets for years, I'm not a total newby at it.

Ideas?

Thanks,

Sue.

Comments (5)

• irina_co
    12 years ago

Sue -

if your bag of violet soil comes from a big box store - you need to improve it with 1/3 of perlite.

Wet your soil, let it sit overnight. Plant your violet the way that the soil is quite lose around its roots, let it be very airy. Cover your new pot with the plastic baggie, angel cake box top, remove it from the direct light - and let it be to adjust for 2-3 weeks. The soil should be humid, not wet - but the air should be very humid. You can lift your cover and mist the plant every so often.
    It wilts because the water roots cannot absorb enough water from the soil. You will help it by eliminating the water loss from leaves - if it is 100% humidity under the cover - the leaves do not lose water and do not wilt. It will give the plant time to grow root hair that will work in the soil.

It should be just right - as long you have patience and keep off from overwatering the soil. As I said - it should be humid but never wet.

Good Luck

Irina

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    12 years ago

I NEVER use AV mix. It's too heavy. Not sure why they make it like that. I use miracle grow or pro-mix and add a little extra perlite.

• irina_co