Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lavenderiasis

help my african violet

lavenderiasis
9 years ago

hi
I am new to african violet, I have 3 plant since 6mon they are in good health and they flowered once for me but after that the leaf are curled up , and they stop putting any flower :(
and one plant it shows brown colour of the tips
can you help me figure what is wrong with them
thanks

Comments (9)

• lavenderiasis
    Original Author
    9 years ago

this the second one

• lavenderiasis
    Original Author
    9 years ago

the side view

• lavenderiasis
    Original Author
    9 years ago

the 3rd one with the brown tips
    (I don't know how to upload multiple images in one post, sorry)

• fortyseven_gw
    9 years ago

Number 1 and 2 too much light. No. 3 chloramine. I am at a club meeting. They suggested too much fertilizer for no. 1. Also, refer to march AV mag.

This post was edited by fortyseven on Sat, May 24, 14 at 14:22

• lavenderiasis
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I keep them under grow light for more than 8 hr. so should I decrease the duration or increase the distance from the light or both?
    thanks

• fortyseven_gw
    9 years ago

Probably. Leach the soil for number one, which has lighter leaves and can't take too much light. Move away from light. Number 2, not as severe damage. No. 3 remove damaged leaves. Make sure water does not have chloramine. Sun damage can also cause the discoloration. Try to get a copy of the AV magazine mentioned above. It has similar photos of leaf damage and suggestions. Others on the Forum might have better advice for you. I don't grow under lights. If the centers are tight, that can also be too much light. J

This post was edited by fortyseven on Sun, May 25, 14 at 1:30

• lavenderiasis
    Original Author
    9 years ago

thanks for your advice, and how can I read this magazine if I am not a member in AV mag. . Do you have a link to this article?
    thanks for the help

• fortyseven_gw
    9 years ago

Hi,