Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christine1950_gw

Survey Says?

christine1950
9 years ago

I was told to water from the bottom for best results. How many of you water from the bottom or top and why you think your way is the best way. Thanks for your input. I am very new to AV's....
Christine

Comments (9)

• plantomaniac08
    9 years ago

I'm a top waterer. I like to make sure that I flush the soil with every watering.

Planto

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

Christine,

Whatever works for you is best. The reasons people water as they do has to do with many things: number of plants, set-up for growing, time that can be spent on watering. Don't stress. There is no 'best'.

Linda

• christine1950
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you both for your responses. Planto your way makes very good sense, so maybe I will try doing the top watering once in a while to flush the soil, all my other plants have always been top watered for that very reason.
    Christine

• plantomaniac08
    9 years ago

Christine,
    I agree with Linda, no way is "better," although some may say you should/shouldn't do one or the other... as she said, in the end it's up to you. I'm happy to hear that I gave you an idea though. :)

Planto

• Karin
    9 years ago

I have mine on mats for humidity, top water regularly, and bottom water (submerge pot in water) every once in a while - whatever my time allows...

Karin

• lauraeli_
    9 years ago