Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grux_gw

infestation of mealy bugs - movement to other plants

grux
15 years ago

I'm a recent graduate of grocery store AV and have discovered my 3 new plants purchased 6 weeks ago from the same source have mealy bugs in the leaf and in the soil. they have not touched my other plants and my concern is infestation of my newly (and costly) acquired varieties. I have read all the remedies/cures but at this point I am wondering what is the likelyhood of my new plants getting these bugs? They are all on the same window sill in a row, but with none of the leaves touching, and they are in sealed pots. Guess you could say I am paranoid and upset about this as I bought these 3 plants from my local AF society show here in my city and have just recently spent over $100 on some more exotic looking varieties including streps and kohlerias. thanks in advance for any information. cheers

Comments (12)

• irina_co
    15 years ago

Grux -

you need to purchase Marathon and mix it with the soil.
    The ones you definitely know are infested - I would cut the crowns off - dispose of the soil and roots - really clean the pots - boiling water with Clorax - let them sit - etc.

Try to wash these crowns - with Clorax and water - 1:4, rubbing alcohol/water - 1:4 - rinse them, recut and reroot in a baggie and in isolation.

Mealy bugs are very contagious - there is no guaranty they will not show up somewhere else. I would add a bit of Marathon in every pot and dig it into the soil - or just repot everything in a soil with 1 teaspoon of Marathon per gallon of soil - Fred will correct me if it too low - but it's what I use.

Next time - put new plants in another room and observe them for 3 months. Even the best and most reputable growers are not protected from bugs - so never-ever put the new acquired plants with old ones.

Paranoid you are not! The bugs are out there. Who said that your exotic $100 plants are free of them?

Good luck - and you will overcome!