Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coolferd

Thick leaves

coolferd
14 years ago

My sister doesn't compute, and I don't raise AVs. Here I am trying to help her out. She's having a problem with thick leaves coming out in the center of her plants. We're both [almost] sure it has to be the fertilizer, but she is using both soil and fertilizer she purchased from an AV farm. She is using the latter in the recommended amount.

She has already tossed 22 plants after cutting leaves and is now ready to toss out the entire collection. I suggested she cut the amount of fertilizer by half in the water. I'm sure others here have addressed this before, and I promise I tried to do a search, but it didn't go anywhere.

Can someone please help. Thanks so much.

Juanita

Comments (8)

• zwaantje
    14 years ago

I am a novice on the AV subject myself. But I would cut the dose of fertilizer in half from what the directions say, and I would repot all plants or rinse the soil for a few minutes with luke warm water to get rid of any built up unwanted deposits.

Regards,
    Milli.

• nwgatreasures
    14 years ago

Juanita,
    Any chance you can get us a picture or two to take a look at so we know exacty what you mean when you say 'thick leaves' ??

Dora

• fuzzyleaves
    14 years ago

I am also confused by your description of "thick leaves" - this could mean several things. It could be the fertilizer but it could also be a pathogen.

If the leaves are becoming twisted and deformed, with the crown getting a tight and bunched up appearance, this could be caused by mite damage. This is a pretty common problem.