Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tally_gw

Opinions: Cut top of leaf when propagating?

Tally
9 years ago

I've read some do, some don't.

Any opinions or recommendations?

Comments (21)

• Karin
    9 years ago

I don't . I read it is to stop the mother leaf from growing bigger and thus speeding up development of plantlets. Never did a test. IMO speed is overrated, and I'd rather not cut anything and open it up to infection/rot if I don't need to.

Karin

• Mary246
    9 years ago

Tally:
    I haven't done it until about a week or so ago. I had a leaf that just sat there and didn't make any babies while all the other leaves that I planted at the same time had been growing babies for a while. So I tried it. I cut the tip of the leaf off and that leaf had babies within a week.
    Mary

• lucky123
    9 years ago

I cut the tops off mine and put the cut top on edge in the pot.
    I have never done any of this before but the tops seem to be doing well.
    It will be interesting if the leaf top cut edge sprouts.
    I read somewhere that this works but maybe only for begonias

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

Mary,

Your leaf probably would have had babies even if you hadn't cut it. It had been planted for a long while so it was probably just taking its time.

I have and haven't cut the tops off of rooting leaves. I really haven't seen any difference. That said, it is really impossible to compare as you don't know how long the leaf would have taken if you had or had not cut it.

I only snip the top now when the leaf is visibly growing larger.

Linda

• Vikki
    9 years ago

I only do with the large leaves, but that's mainly because I can place the pots closer together that way. I haven't seen any difference between cutting and not cutting as far as losing the leaves before they make babies.

• quimoi
    9 years ago