Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
merkity

Seed pod?

merkity
9 years ago

is this the beginning of a seed pod? first time ever trying to pollinate an AV...

Comments (8)

• Karin
    9 years ago

It's possible, but then, I had some that looked like those shrivel up and die with the bloom all the same...
    So far, one seed pod was the max I could get to mature per plant. I had about ten take on my little Hopi, but then none of them made it. Next time I will try and select just one or two to leave on and see if that produces a stronger pod.
    Try and remember not to prune them off, and removing the petals may make them look tidier, but I tore several apart that way...
    Do you not remove the pollen sacs of the seed parent blossom? I read that is supposed to make accidental self-crossings less likely, unless you squish them in the process and spill the pollen all over ;-)

Karin

• merkity
    Original Author
    9 years ago

i have never tried this with AVs before - but since i am simply crossing the plant with itself - not too worried about the pollen sacs rihgt now. I will have to remember that if i manage to get another AV in bloom at the same time.

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

To avoid accidentally removing pods when grooming, tie a bit of yarn or string around the pedicel. I use the yarn I use for wicking. You can also note the cross on a small piece of paper and thread the yarn through it. It makes it easy to remember what plants you used for the cross.

Seed production is a great energy drain so most growers will only have one pod per plant and will not allow the plant to flower while the pod is growing. That is probably why your Hopi had trouble with pods.

As far as self-crossing goes, the pollen sacs are removed before pollinating to make sure the flower does not accidentally self-pollinate. However, once a flower has been successfully pollinated it cannot receive pollen from another source.

Linda

• Karin
    9 years ago