Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rjbcrest

maximizing bloom

rjbcrest
14 years ago

I have a large number of AV's. Many of them have spectacular blooms, but only for a relatively small time. I alternate dyna-gro (7-9-5) and optimara (14-12-14) and use 1/4 tsp/gal for watering each time. Although the AV's are very nice, they seem to go through the bloom cycle fairly quickly. I am wondering if a violet is blooming nicely would feeding it with plain water prolong the bloom? Or should I put plain water into the cycle and alternate with 1/3 dyna-grow, 1/3 optimara, and water. Would appreciate any suggestions.

Comments (4)

• glorybea
    14 years ago

I'm just beginning to work with AVs. They are blooming very well, even after transplanting them. I just give them water one time then the next time an AF food: 8.14.9.
    They might be doing well because I live half mile from Pacific Ocean in So. Calif.

• irina_co
    14 years ago

Rjb -

what's the temperature of your growing area? Do you keep them under lights? What's the humidity?

In my experience - the major factor is the variety. Some of them hold flowers for long time especially if they have green on them. The worst are droppers. There is a good reason the hybridizers worked hard until they achieved "sticktite" bloom. Old varieties - their flowers lose corolla seems like in a couple of days. Industrial style violets - the ones that you can buy in a big box store - they are selected to bloom in flashes - they need to be covered with bloom when they are sold - and then they rest.

Otherwise - you need a very stable conditions to keep the bloom longer. It should not be too hot or too dry.