Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vickster257

My many African Violet plants appear to be dying

vickster257
15 years ago

one by one and it could be botryitis but the leaves are beginning to get extremely soft with a grayish tinge and hairy and the petioles are mushy. They are grown in the ceramic planters. They all have blossoms but what can I do to save them. Any advice for me at this stage or is it too late??

Vicki

Comments (9)

• birdsnblooms
    15 years ago

Vicki, I'm no expert on AV's, but it sounds like root rot. Do your ceramic planters have drainage holes? Even though AV's like water, if one is sitting in water, 24/7, and there's no escape route, the plant can rot.
    Is there an odor in the soil? Sometimes, rot has a sour odor. Toni

• bspofford
    15 years ago

Hi, Vicki,

I assume you mean the 2-part ceramic planters, so based on that, what do you have them in for 'soil'? Is the soil sopping wet?

Barbara

• lilypad22
    15 years ago

How long have they been planted in the pots. They are a little tricky, the soil needs more perlite and you have to keep a lower water level in the lower pot and let it dry out between watering. Also they need repotted as the soil retains the salts and such from fertilizer and that can cause the plant to die also. If you take the plant out and the root is gone, try cutting off the crown where the stem is still showing good green growth and try and reroot it. You can do a search here and find out ways to reroot the crown.

• korina
    15 years ago

First things first. Grab as many healthy-looking leaves to root as you can; it's good to have insurance.

Korina

• sushoomee
    15 years ago