Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenbear1

watering my AV

gardenbear1
9 years ago

I'm new to growing AV I have 2 that came from lowes and there flowering and seem to be happy in a south window, They are in the same room I grow orchids in with 60% /70% humility the temp is around 80 day time and 70 night time, I'm not sure about watering them, I water from the bottom and never let them sit in water after 1/2 hour, I'm not sure about what to feed them or how much, there a lot I need to learn about how to care for them, I find them to be a cool little plant.
Thanks for any and all help you can give me.

Bear

Comments (14)

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

Bear,

A south window may be too hot, you want bright light, not sun.

Eighty degrees may be too warm; most growers try for around 70 max.

When you water, water thoroughly and then let dry to moist before watering again. Over-watering is the number one killer of AV's, so go easy.

This forum has many knowledgeable growers. If you have a question, this is a good place for info. Also, I've included a site that is a great source of growing info.

Good luck!
    Linda

• gardenbear1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Linda Thanks for the info, I guess I should have said the the south window is shaded by a large tree so they don't get direct sun on them, I was thinking it would be ok for them because I have some orchids growing in the same windows that need bright light but no direct sun.

Bear

• fortyseven_gw
    9 years ago

There is at least one really fine AV club in the Bay State. I'll bet you would really enjoy going to their meetings. When I lived in MA, plants gave me great joy. If you can grow orchids in MA, you can grow anything! Plus, you've got a lot of the great hybridizers nearby in NJ and NY you can visit in person. Welcome and enjoy browsing this Forum.
    Joanne

• quimoi
    9 years ago