Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mbrasseau

not a newbie, but...

Mona B
11 years ago

I'm not a newbie; I grow alot outside in the ground and in containers (organically)... stuff to eat... but I'm not real successful with the 'pretty stuff'

ok, roses, I can grow really pretty roses... but thats it

So I'm more of an adolescent than a newbie

So for many years I've tried to grow African Violets, and they do nicely, all green, strong, and happy, but they never bloom. I have even tried to 'cheat' and buy them already in bloom. The blooms just fall off and it lives on as just a ordinary plant.

So as I was reading and I see a few mistakes I've been making... pot is too big, and light is too diffused. (light is coming from skylight in my bathroom)

[IMG]http://i1053.photobucket.com/albums/s475/mbrasseau/IMG_20120609_182114.jpg[/IMG]

I will repot 'Viola' back into her original pot, but it seems kind of counter-practice to me. At the last repotting she was a bit root-bound, so if we do not allow the roots to grow into a new larger container, what do we do with all this extra root... wouldn't THAT cause root-rot? And if we are keeping the plant in the same pot, what exactly are we repotting with, if there is no expanding room to add additional fresher material? Also, how do you provide more light, but not more heat? In my mind they go hand-in-hand

yes, an argumentative (questioning), confused adolescent...

Mona

Comments (18)

• stonesriver
    11 years ago

Welcome, Mona. Hope we can help you.

I'll do my best so, here goes:

1. Many times AVs don't rebloom because they are allowed to go dry just about the time the buds are developing. This halts bud development. That's why so many wick/reservoir water.

2. When putting back into same pot, you root prune. Take off about 1/3 of the root mass.

3. Using fluorescent lights fixes the heat problem. Or a grow-light in a lamp.

4. Use a well-balanced fertilizer like Dyna Gro "Grow" formula; not Foliage Pro.