Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gesjenn

Signs of INVS???

gesjenn
10 years ago

Hi all,
Sorry about the blurry photo but I am still learning to use this new camera!
Does this look anything like the impatiens virus?
My violet are all recent purchases and have had to adapt to new growing conditions. They have been stressed, but I think that something else is going on..
The center leaves look yellowish and "rusty". There are small holes on the tops of the leaves. These are on the surface and don't go all the way through. Also a leaf is turning brown and crispy on the edge.
Some of the other violets leaves have similar holes on the tops of the leaves and also under them. They weren't there before.
Can just gnats do this? If I can be reassured that this damage is due to gnats, I will buy Azamax and use that.
Otherwise... I think I'm going to have to throw out the entire collection.

Comments (13)

• mooseblossoms
    10 years ago

This looks like fertilizer burn. Do you top water your plants? I have found that bottom watering prevents fertilizer salts from building up on the crown and the top of the soil.

Wash the salts off according to the instructions in the attached link. If any crowns end up dying, the plant will start growing suckers. You can choose one to be the new crown or wait until the suckers are all big enough to be potted on their own and have a bunch of new plants!

Here is a link that might be useful: Fertilizer Burn info and photo

• gesjenn
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi mooseblossoms,
    Thanks for the reply.
    I top water but I make sure I don't get water in the crown.
    I'll look at the link. I didn't think I over fertilized. I just used 7 drops in a quart of water.
    Maybe the grower over fertilized?
    I sure hope that my violets are ok....

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

I second that idea. Did you plant in a bagged soil mix? Some of them come with fertilizer added.

Linda

• gesjenn
    Original Author
    10 years ago