Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lakesflowers

the violet barn - robsviolets.com - caveat emptor!

lakesflowers
13 years ago

What you need: #1, good luck, #2, greenhouse or like conditons, #3, patience to nurse your premature infant plants, #4, be able to watch your little plants slowly die.

Thats what I needed to know before getting two shipments of dying plants and that this man ships plants with immature root systems or no roots in poor soil and that he would ship over a long hot holiday weekend without asking first and that he would cheat me out of a few dollars and that he was a grumpy greedy man.

#1 is best, Good Luck, Caveat Emptor.

Comments (57)

• james_ny
    13 years ago

I've been ordering plants from Rob's for many years, never had a doa yet. Sorry to here about the issues you've had.

• GrowHappy
    13 years ago

The right thing would have been for you to take your problem up with Rob, rather than bashing him on an open forum like this. Most gesneriad enthusiasts already know that he sends small plants, but we also know how to care for them properly so that they do grow well. His plants are always healthy, and pest free- in my experience. I am sorry this happened to you. But please allow this to be a learning experience for you and give him another chance. I agree with Irina, Fall is a good time to order. I've ordered plants in ;anuary and they arrived in perfect condition. I also made sure I picked them up right away so as not to allow excessive exposure to extreme temps.

• lakesflowerss
    13 years ago

The only person who could damage Rob's business is Rob himself by sending plants with immature root systems. Sending immature rooted plants is unscrupulous.

He at first refused and then reluctantly sent out another package, with plants of lesser value on which I paid the expenses. This package arrived with plants with immature root systems already dying. I tented the plants, checked the mosture daily, then repotted them out of that hard soil.