Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aharriedmom

Is it wrong that I'm excited to have a sucker?

aharriedmom
11 years ago

Ever since I read that suckers can be removed and potted up, I've been inspecting my AVs for them. Yesterday I noticed that my new (I've had it a week and two days) Tomahawk has a sucker.

Is it wrong that I'm excited that I'll get a 'fast' extra plant? Does it make it painfully obvious that I am a newbie to AVs?

I'm eating applesauce right now so that I can poke holes in the container and then remove the sucker. :)

Comments (14)

• aharriedmom
    Original Author
    11 years ago

It's done! I think I did well for my first attempt.

Questions I haven't found answers to:
    1) the original plant had plenty of root left. Does it need to be in a humidity dome or tent?
    2) the sucker is in an applesauce cup with holes punched in, sitting on a plate with an upside down fish bowl over it. Will that work or do I need to do something different?

~

I didn't realize how sad it would make me to cut the blooms off the plant. Even though it was a bit of a scraggly plant, atm, I loved the flowers. Oh well, this ought to make it grow better and soon enough I'll have more flowers. (especially if the six leaves root, haha)

Help! I've become an addict!

• nyxx
    11 years ago

Did you get much root on the sucker? I am far from an expert. In fact my motto is ignorance is bliss lol. If I don't know what I am doing won't work it does. Kind of like Dumbo, flying merrily along till the bird told him he couldn't fly and down he went. If I get enough root on the sucker I treat it the same as I would if I was just repotting.

• aharriedmom
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The sucker doesn't have much root at all, a little - but it was just close enough to the edge (or I cut too crooked, it's totally possible) that most roots were left on the mama plant. The sucker is under the dome, the mom plant isn't - and won't be unless someone tells me I should do it.