Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnwright31

Zip Lock Bags and covering

johnwright31
18 years ago

I'm fairly new to AFs, but when you say to put cuttings in a zip lock back, does the bag need to be sealed? or how does the plant get air? Same question for a terrarium that they say to cover with plastic wrap. do you cut holes for air? I know it makes it more humid to cover it, but i'm a little confused. Sorry if it seems like a dumb question :)

Comments (8)

• larry_b
    18 years ago

Hi John,

It's not a dumb question. It does seem a little counterintuitive but a plant can survive in a closed environment for an indefinite amount of time. So, feel free to seal up that ziplock bag.

Larry

• katlady4
    16 years ago

Should the entire plant, including pot be enclosed in the zip lock bag. When isolating a new plant, how long should it be kept in the zip lock bag?

Kathy

• irina_co
    16 years ago

Kathy -

there are 2 different issues. If you repotted your plant, rerooted the crown or put leaves down - it will help to put your plant or plants under the dome or in a plasic baggie - usually 2 weeks is enough- then you can start opening your ziplock bag or dome gradually adjusting the plant to outside air - in a week. Leaves - you can keep them covered until the babies show up.

Isolation - the best is to keep the new plant isolated for 3 months. Another room works OK. You can use a tray and a tall dome - if you need to keep new plants on the same shelf. I do not think that a ziplock bag will be convenient for such a long period of time.

Good luck

Irina

• katlady4
    16 years ago

Thank you Irina for your input and information. I thought 3 months might be a long time for a leaf or plant to live in a plastic bag.