Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosie_garden

New to African Violets

rosie.garden
11 years ago

Good Afternoon,

I've been browsing this forum all day and its been a wealth of information.

I just want to say how excited I am to have found African Violets. I'm very new to the gardening (Coleus was my first love) and have absolutely fallen in love with the African Violet.

I ordered 4, 1 plant and 3 leaves.

Rainy Day Lovin

Summer Comfort

Solemn Promise

Cranberry Crush

I have a couple days to get pots and stuff together. I can't wait!

Comments (17)

• JDB1935
    11 years ago

warning it will take over 4 today 40 next month.

• nyxx
    11 years ago

Rosie welcome to our addiction. =o)

• rosie.garden
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks nyxx and JDB.

I have a quick question. I've done so much reading that I'm getting confused. Some websites say to root your leaves in water and then move them to potting mix, other say directly into potting mix.

Once I get my leaves, what should I put them in? Also, if I put them in a dome like tray for humidity should I open every couple days to refresh the oxygen? Oh and if I do go directly to potting mix should I wick them?

I'm sorry if these are silly questions. I'm very new to all things plants.

• sempak
    11 years ago

where can i have this such of flower

Here is a link that might be useful: bunga

• aegis1000
    11 years ago

Solemn Promise has a beautiful flower.

• irina_co
    11 years ago

FIRST - GUYS DO NOT OPEN STRANGE LINKS FROM STRANGE PEOPLE WITH POOR GRAMMAR. It can be legit or it can be virus. I do not even want to know.

Rosie -

I use soil, not water. Your potting mix for the leaves should be very light. You can use Promix BX or Promix HP or seed starter mix or rehydrate a Jiffy pellet and fluff it up. I use 1:1:1 general Cornell mix (peat-perlite-vermiculite) - works too.