Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bittybats

Whats wrong with it?

bittybats
9 years ago

Hi, everyone! I've been stalking this forum for a while (few weeks) but this is my first time posting. I'm very new with african violets (or plants in general) so please forgive my newbie mistakes!

A few days ago a bought an african violet at home depot, which was labeled as an optimara. I'm fairly certain it's mydesire. When I looked at the description for it, my plant seemed somewhat different, which makes me think something is wrong with it.

First, why does it have cupped leaves?

{{gwi:369962}}

Second, why are the undersides of the leaves turning red? When I brought it home, I had removed some outer leaves and they were not red at all. It seemed to get progressively redder as you go in.

{{gwi:369963}}

Third, are the inside leaves supposed to be so...ruffled?

{{gwi:369964}}

Here's a close up.

{{gwi:369965}}

Please don't say mites. :(

In case anyone wants to know, the plant is about 3 inches below an east facing window. When I repotted this plant I used about 4 parts perlite and 3 parts av soil mix (both miracle grow brand). As I recall, the plant did pretty much look like this when I bought it.

Any and all comments appreciated!

Comments (5)

• quimoi
    9 years ago

Absolutely nothing wrong with it that I can see. My address is....

After looking over the choices, I think it's MyDesire too. Optimara's foliage always changes for me after I get it home. I don't know if it's just the switch from greenhouse environment or it's maturing. Your center leaves are showing more mature characteristics though.