Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scurbanfarmer

AV problem...can you help me?

scurbanfarmer
13 years ago

I'm not sure what's happening to my babies.

I'm still kind of new to AV's....so I don't know what i'm doing wrong.

Can you tell me from the picture if my plant is going to die? What happened?

Can I take leaf cuttings to atleast propagate from? Or should I dicard the plant as a whole?

{{gwi:370217}}

Comments (13)

• robitaillenancy1
    13 years ago

Looks like a classic case of cyclamen mite. This means the plant should be put into the garbage, not recycling. The plant will never get better without using two expensive chemicals. It would be much cheaper to buy another plant.

You probably bought this plant with mite already in residence. Very sorry to say, but the best advice I can give is to throw away the plant and buy a new one--maybe not at the same store.

Nancy

• scurbanfarmer
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Oh, that totally stinks!!
    Is there any tell tale signs I can look for to ensure I don't buy anymore plants like this?
    None of them looked like this when I bought them.

• robitaillenancy1
    13 years ago

Just check the center. If it is slightly off color, if leaves seem very hairy, if stems or flowers are twisted, they may be symptoms of mite.

Another thing you might look for is soil mealy bug. Take the pot from the plant and look for white power residue in the pot or on the soil. If you see that, don't buy any plants of any kind from that store.

Most stores are fairly good about offering healthy plants. You might have better luck buying from an African violet club where they know more about the bugs and how to spot them.

Nancy

• quimoi
    13 years ago

If you bought it at a chain store, I'd avoid that one. Some folks will say avoid them all, but you can't be sure about almost any place (it's just much less likely from a reputable grower).