Return to the African Violets Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
when to transplant african violets

Posted by roelfo iowa (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 21, 06 at 11:10

I am NEW to the
African violet world. I have three that have done well in the past year since I purchased them for 1.50 at our supermarket. They are blooming beautifully right now. They are still in the little plastic pots that they had when I purchansed them. My question is this: When do I transplant them? Must I wait until the blooming has stopped or can they be transplanted now? What size pot should I use? One that is barely larger than the one they have or can I use one that's about 3 times as large? Also, what suggestions do people living in the cold midwest have for keeping them happy during the long, gray winter days?

Thank you,
Roelfo

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: when to transplant african violets

Hi Roelfo,

First, welcome to the world of African violets. They are really cool plants as you would expect somebody in the African violet forum to say.

There are a couple of reasons that dictate when to repot your violet. It has outgrown its pot, or it's been six months since the last repotting.

The first reason that the violet has outgrown its pot is this. Rule of thumb is that the pot should be one third the diameter of the plant from leaf tip to leaf tip. That is a 9 in. violet would have a 3 in. pot. A 6 in. violet would have a 2 in. pot and so on. African violets like to have their roots constricted. They bloom much nicer if they do.