Return to the African Violets Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help with id of plant

Posted by vall3fam 9 CentralCA (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 19, 07 at 12:12

I purchased this plant as a starter plant in the spring. I replanted into a 2 1/2" oyama pot and it has grown well. It was supposed to be "Persian Prince", but I always thought it looked funny, but what do I know! I'm new to these plants and wondered why it's foilage was so "messy" and wondered how I was going to divide it and have it look like the "Persian Prince" in photos.

Anyway, I ran across a photo of "Ramblin Lassie" this week on Rob's website and lo and behold, I think this is it! The seller I got it from didn't have "Ramblin Lassie" as one of their plants, but I'm sure that is what this is.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now that I think it is "Ramblin Lassie", it looks gorgeous! It's covered with blooms and I love it's tousled foilage.

So what do you think - "Persian Prince" or "Ramblin Lassie" or something else?

Let me know what you think!
Elaine

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help with id of plant

It looks very much like Ramblin' Lassie from the photo on FC2. It does not grow at all like Persian Prince which grows very small with tight leaves making a small miniature.

I'd certainly vote for Ramblin' Lassie. Maybe the person who gave you the leaf doesn't know she has Ramblin' Lassie.

Nancy

o

Thanks, Nancy. I was looking for the growth like "Persian Prince" and got what looks like a messed up hairdo! Then it started blooming like crazy and hasn't stopped. I'm going to get more pleasure from this one than the other anyway! I guess I should let the grower I purchased it from know that it is i.d.'ed wrong.

Elaine

o