Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerome_gw

Complete Newbie....AV pot questions

jerome
12 years ago

I recently got myself an African violet from a nursery - they only had 2 and both were parched and dying. I got the less dead, re-potted it, and got a tray with pea gravel to water it by. I feed it every watering with a very diluted liquid feed. In 6 weeks it has gotten a lot bigger and looks happy. I was so heartened by this that I ordered 4 more from the Violet Barn, and today went to Home Depot to buy real AV pots for them. Hence my questions:

Folks, these are double pots, outside/bottom pot to put water in, inside/top one to put the plant in....

Why don't they have holes on the bottom? It says they're porous but I can't see how a plant can get water through a solid wall. I put water in the pots and it doesn't seem to have seeped though in an hour or so.... I don't want to lose the beautiful plants I've ordered from Violet Barn.

Can you just put the food in the water of these bottom pots, and it'll seep up through the solid top pot?

Thanks for any guidance. These are beautiful plants.

Jerome

Comments (14)

• ima_digger
    12 years ago

I have a few of those pots and do not like them. After using them a while, they stop absorbing the water. You'd be better off returning them to HD and just get 4" pots. When you pot them up use av potting soil mixed with perlite. Check this forum for posts on potting and watering. You will find some great information. Good luck with your new collection. Soon you will bedcome addicted like the rest of us here.

• jerome
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks very much for the input...

• jerome
    Original Author
    12 years ago

What about those oyama pots? are they better?

• irina_co
    12 years ago

Oyama pots are better - but you need to remember that the soil mix that goes to Oyamas should be 1:3:1 - peat - perlite : vermiculite - and they need a layer of perlite on a bottom.