Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mbjos

Questions

mbjos
16 years ago

Have some leaves potted and they have babies(yeah!). But I think I'm going through separation anxiety! From what I read they can be separated at about the size of dime. Do I wait until all plantlets get that size? Also some of my av have suckers on them and I just transplanted them into new pots about 4 weeks ago. Is it O.K. to take them out again and remove the suckers? Will this be to much of a shock for them? This is becoming stressful! lol! Is anyone going to the MAAVS show in York,Pa? I'm looking forward to it. It's my first time to one. Any thing in specific I should look for?

Thanks and sorry so long.

Mary Beth

Comments (9)

• itsdeb
    16 years ago

Now Mary Beth stop getting all stressed. Growing violets is supposed to be enjoyable and a stress reliever. This is my opinion about separating and potting up babies. The little plants need time to grow a few leaves and roots so they can survive on their own. If you separate too soon, they will have less of a chance of surviving. Also, leaves are expensive. Sometimes you have three or four dollars apiece in them by the time you buy the leaf and pay shipping. So, separating too soon can give you fewer plants than if you wait for all possible babies to grow to a suitable size. I often try to save the mother leaf by gently pulling the babies away one at a time. If you can do that leaving mamaÂs roots intact, you can put her back down to grow another batch of babies. But, IÂve found the mama leaves are very brittle and often the stem breaks in spite of my efforts to gently separate.

How big is big enough to separate? Here is a link to a picture of some of my trays of leaves. The first tray on the right shows leaves that in my opinion are not ready to separate. Even though most of them have babies they just are not large enough to divide. The next tray to the left contains several that I would consider ready to divide and pot up.