Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lunrtwilight

Can I get an opinion?

LunRTwilight
10 years ago

I honestly cannot remember if this violet was gifted to me or if it was one of the neglected ones I rescued, so no background, sorry. What I've noticed is that it grows taller than the rest of my violets in a pyramid shape. I turn ot regularly, but it still grows heavilyon one side and sparsely on the other? The side that grows heavily hugs the pot. When I got it, I had to re-pot it immediately because the neck was very long. It may be that I need to re-pot it again and cut off the bottom of the root ball, as I remember it touching the bottom of the pot.

Comments (9)

• LunRTwilight
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another angle

• LunRTwilight
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here's a better view of the foliage.

• jujujojo_gw
    10 years ago

Posted by LunRTwilight none (My Page) on Fri, Sep 13, 13 at 9:13

I am no expert. I feel your violet got too much water.

The outer leaves do not look happy. In my experience, when the AVs grow the fastest, the surface of the pot is airy and dry.

Using self-watering pot requires as much technique as ordinary pot. 30% of the time, I pull the inner pot out and let it dry at places with air flow. Another 50% of the time, the water in the outer pot does not touch the bottom of the inner pot.

AVs do not like dry but, again AVs like somewhat dry soil with some persistent moist at the bottom. They CAN handle wet soil but they do not grow as fast. If the soil is wet for too long, the leaves hug the pot.

This post was edited by jujujojo on Fri, Sep 13, 13 at 19:49

• irina_co
    10 years ago