Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tkr99

Deformed leaves on 'baby' AV

tkr99
9 years ago

I bought this little one online but when it arrived the leaves were already a shade deformed. However, I've been ill & unable to get it repotted as yet as I've no decent medium to do so until maybe next wk earliest.

So while it's at least not died over the past 6 wks or so it's not really grown any either & what little growth there is continues to be deformed rather badly.

Is there any hope for it improving once I get it repotted or is it unlikely to really have a chance at this late stage? Anything else I can maybe do for it until repotting to help it?

Thanks Romayne

Comments (8)

• judyj
    9 years ago

Hi Romanye,
    Though I'm a relative newbie at this, it seems that this could be caused by any number of issues.

I'd definitely repot it right away, ensure there aren't any bugs in the soil (get a magnifying glass and look) and don't over-water.
    Just get the new soil damp-but not wet-and pot it in (same pot size).

Not sure of your potting soil mix, but if it's not too wet, it should be OK. Since it's not a blooming thing right now-this is all I can think of. Others will chime in that have more experience.

Best,
    Judy

• bittybats
    9 years ago

I think Judy is right, tho I'm new too. You can try doming it to inc humidity. Or just put it in a plastic baggie. Mine looked something like that when I moved and *cough* put them in the check in bag in the plane *cough*. Outer leaves gave up and died on me, but the inner leaves were fine. I eventually saw new healthy growth in a few weeks, but never did I see deformed growth. Try to take a pic of the crown to show what this deformed growth is.

Don't feel bad if it doesn't make it. I killed my first av...and was close to killing a few others.

• lucky123
    9 years ago

Isolate that plant and keep it isolated for a few months.