Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kolfinna_gw

New and need opinions

kolfinna
15 years ago

Hey, all.

I just "rescued" four miniature AVs (mini pink, green, blue, and gold pots) from the local Lowe's and, honestly, they don't look too great. They look like they're slowly stabilizing... two look like they're going to be okay, but the other two look like they're struggling.

I've repotted all of my AVs, typically within a week of purchasing them, so if it didn't help, that's something to contend with too.

One has some odd discoloration on the leaves (mini green-pot), but the other struggling AV looks like it might have something major going on (mini pink-pot).

Can you all take a look and let me know what to do? I'm really new to this and I'm not sure what I'm looking for yet.

I've included the URL to my pictures below...

Thanks!

~K

----

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v646/klchw9/African%20Violets/

Comments (12)

• nwgatreasures
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm not an expert on photo diagnosis but I did want to welcome you to the board.
    I did look at your plants and I don't see anything that a few more weeks of getting used to their new environment wouldn't fix.

How dense is your soil?

Dora

• robitaillenancy1
    15 years ago

You know it's so enjoyable to find nice healthy plants anywhere--even the NOIDs at grocery stores and other places. And it's and adventure to rescue those plants marked down because no one wants the poor little struggling plants.

But do you know what you can bring into your home, into your present collection by buying plants that are not in good health.

Root rot caused by overwatering probably wouldn't spread to your other plants. But crown rot just might. And all the bugs you could bring in starting with the devestation of soil mealy bugs.