Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyermike_1micha

Are african viloets prone to this?

meyermike_1micha
14 years ago

Spidermite attacks?

If so, how do you rid them. Seems that anything you spray on the leaves would hurt them since they are fuzzy? No?

This is my first time growing them and I would like to be prepared..Thanks so much

Comments (8)

• lathyrus_odoratus
    14 years ago

I'm relatively new to AVs myself, meyermike, but I seem to recall that while spidermites can attack them, it's other mites that are more likely to cause problems. Broad mites and cyclamen mites are the two that are problematic.

AVs have several potential pests. I've quickly learned that there are several things important when growing them:

1. Always isolate new AVs from your existing ones. Some people put them in separate rooms, others actually quarantine them in zip-top baggies. Isolate them for at least a month or two, and up to a year depending on how many AVs you have and how much damage an outbreak of something could cause.

2. Get to know the common problems: mites, soil mealies, leaf mealies, thrips, aphids, powdery mildew. Some people add springtails, others think they are just a nuisance and ignore them unless they get out of control. Also, learn how to control each of these.

3. Follow good growing hygiene. Keep good air circulation, water appropriately (not too much, but never letting them dry out for more than a day), groom them to remove dead leaves, etc.

I also recently had a conversation with a person in a local AV club. She said she wished we would all stop using chemicals as preventives. She said that we're contributing to making the insect/pathogens resistant to the treatments by doing that. It made sense to me so I will not be trying that and will instead just treat things when it happens.

The Optimara website has a LOT of info on pests and pathogens and I've learned an incredible amount reading there.

Nice to see another Container Forum person here.