Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ocelaris

How to tell if wicking is working correctly?

ocelaris
12 years ago

Hi, I'm new to the African Violet group, although I have a lot of other horticulture experience. I've been reading the forum on wicking, and last weekend I converted my 10 to wick using 1-1-1 peat, vermiculite, and perlite, I used nylon mason line soaked in soapy water for a wick. I've watch a few youtube videos on it etc... So I think I did it right, but I've heard people warn new users about converting all their plants, so I'm a bit worried! So my question is, how can I tell if the wicking is working correctly?

I've looked beneath the plants, and made sure the wick is wet all the way up (or if for some reason it wasn't I rewetted it). I wet the soilless mix when I repotted the plants, and watered them a small amount to try and get the wicking working. 2 days later everything looks/feels damp in the soil, but I wasn't sure what else to look out for?

The plants are under a pair of 4' long fluorescent tubes that I had for seed starting.

Also everyone says that the lights should be 10-12" from plants? But that seems really high, I got out my light meter and was getting 900-1100 only when the tops were like 4" away from the lights, so that's where they are now. I'm not sure if the bulbs are old, they're 2 years old, but we only used them to start seeds, so not sure if they've been used very much comparatively. I'll probably give these back to the vegetable seedlings come spring and get my own set of lights for the violets.

Thanks, Bill

Comments (8)

• sonority
    12 years ago