Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frank325

My first light stand attempt...

frank325
15 years ago

Okay so I wasn't going for beauty, but affordability. Here is my first attempt. The light is about 12 inches from the tops of my violet. It seems like other pictures I've seen have them so much closer, but then I see people say 12 inches. So is this fine? It's a little bare now, but I have about a dozen little babies coming up in that middle gladware container, so it will be full in the near future.

Also, up until now they've just been in front of that window (south west facing). What would you suggest as far as having these lights on for the first few weeks. Should I have them come on and off a few times throughout the day so it isn't too much at the beginning?

{{gwi:374717}}

Comments (9)

• nwgatreasures
    15 years ago

Is it possible to put the stand in front of the window and not use the lights at all?

Good job on the stand itself. I'm not an expert on light placement.

Dora

• frank325
    Original Author
    15 years ago

That's what I've been doing with another stand (too small to use with the light), and it has worked out okay, but with fall and winter on it's way, the amount of light they'll get will certainly be diminished and I want to allow these babies to grow up big and strong at a fairly decent pace.

• curtis0353
    15 years ago

Nice stand, Frank. You will now have a lot more control over the amount of light that your plants are getting.

For standard violets 10-12 inches is a good distance to keep the plants from the light. I am assuming that you have 40 watt bulbs and you will be burning them about 12 hours once the violets are acclimated to the lights. Keep in mind that new bulbs will burn brighter at first.
    Semis and mini's can be placed a little closer, say 8- 10 inches maybe.

It looks like you are growing other plants as well. AVs are a relatively low light level plant and other plants may have different light needs.