Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tonibaumgard

Oh dear another beginner's disaster

tonibaumgard
9 years ago

This morning when I checked my leaf nursery, little mushroom like things were growing out of the cups. I guess this means I have to throw them all away. :( I have never had this happen to anything I tried to grow before., but I am totally new to AV's. Too much water? Too much humidity in the air? I am sad. :(

Comments (21)

• snappyguy
    9 years ago

Possibly too wet, but possibly not. Many people experience a harmless white fuzzy fungus growing on the top of their potting mix around grown plants. I haven't heard of mushrooms growing, but if the medium you planted the leaves in was contaminated with their spores I wouldn't be surprised to see them grow. Many fungi are even capable of growing in rather dry conditions.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

thats all it will take to quit ..???

see link.. sterilize some new media...

and repot your leaves ...

mushrooms ... are simply an indication... that your media has vegetative material in it.. that is decomposing ...

so by starting with sterile media... you avoid a lot of this ...

i would differentiate between random fungus.. and mushrooms ...

then wash the pots in 10% bleach ... refill with new media.. restick the leaves ... and go for it ....

think of your little operation.. like a hospital operating room ... start clean.. and you avoid having to cure problems in the future ...

watering may or may not be an issue ... with these AV .. humidity would be more important than watering .... and that issue would involve tenting ...

hope this makes some sense ...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: lilnk

• judyj
    9 years ago

Hi Toni,