Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nyxx_gw

Mini Trailers

nyxx
11 years ago

I have a miniature trailer, Foxwood Trail. I have no experience with trailers at all. Do trailers continue to spread out as long as you keep potting up? And if you keep potting up when they look crowded doesn't that keep them from ever blooming as they keep putting all their energy into the the roots and leaves? Can you keep them a certain size by keeping them in the pot they are in when they reach your preferred size? I am assuming you can but have to prune them some. I have read that they do well in hanging baskets, (I think these were the standards)When I think of hanging baskets I think of the plants cascading over the top. Do trailers do this if confined in smaller pots? The pot I have it in currently, fits in the top of a teapot I have. I think it would look amazing if the plant would cascade down the side of the teapot some. But have no idea if this is achievable or just one of those things I picture in my head and can never make real lol. Any and all info will be much appreciated.

Comments (8)

• irina_co
    11 years ago

Nyxx -

there are trailers that have relatively long internodes - there are more of them in standard trailer category - and they cascade. minis and semis - especially the modern ones have really short internodes and they do not spread a lot.
    There is a certain time period your trailer will look good, but eventually it will develop bare stems in the middle. I tried to repot them deeper to cover these stems - but the proper solution is to restart them - take tip cuttings and root them. It takes more than a year to grow a show quality trailer plant - and it probably will stay attractive for another year - but then you need to disassemble it. (you still need to repot it every 6-9 months to give it fresh soil).

As far as I remember this trailer is s/mini and you can grow it nicely in a shallow bulb pan 5-6" in diameter.

Irina

• GCTBA
    11 years ago