Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nyxx_gw

Fertilizer survey of sorts

nyxx
11 years ago

Just wondering which do you prefer, Optimara or Jacks african violet fertilizer? Or is there another you prefer?

Comments (12)

• TreeDoor
    11 years ago

Honestly I just use any 20-20-20 fertilizer that is good quality, and I dilute 2x more than whatever the package says.

Here is a link that might be useful: African Violets

• taxonomist3
    11 years ago

I've never used Jack's before. Optimara, I've not a lot of success with honestly.

I've just started trying something different with using organic additives to the soil to feed the plants. This is a trial thing, and my conclusions has not been reached because I'm still observing the results.

• nyxx
    Original Author
    11 years ago

What kind of organic additives are you experimenting with and how long is your trail so for?

• terrilou
    11 years ago

I have never used Jack's but have had success with Optimara. I've just started using Miracle Grow 20-20-20 about 1/8 tsp to the gallon. The urea content is not too high with this fertilizer, so I will see how it does. I may eventually step up to 1/4 tsp per gallon if all goes well.

• terrilou
    11 years ago

I have never used Jack's but have had success with Optimara. I've just started using Miracle Grow 20-20-20 about 1/8 tsp to the gallon. The urea content is not too high with this fertilizer, so I will see how it does. I may eventually step up to 1/4 tsp per gallon if all goes well.

• taxonomist3
    11 years ago

I started back in June. First I started off with the basic bone meal, blood meal, and something else that I can't seem to remember at the moment.

Now I'm also testing a product called flower-tone which seems to yielding more flowering success.

I've also been experimenting with using diatomaceous earth in the potting mix to ward off some critters which seems to be working as well.

• snappyguy
    11 years ago