Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
avalonon

Came from the store with lots of blooms--now just leaves

avalonON
14 years ago

I have 9 violets bought from various stores over 3 months. All had nice blooms when I got them and I have followed the advice from this forum and Tony Clements' AV Handbook re light, watering, fertilizing, potting mix etc. Almost all have stopped blooming although they have healthy leaves.

I can't even remember what the flowers of some of them looked like and despair of seeing any blooms again. I was going to get some named AV's but am discouraged with what I'm doing with the NOIDS I have. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Comments (14)

• bonniejune
    14 years ago

I am sure you will get answers here....or Dave's Garden...
    I am fairly new to this, too......I have learned not to overwater, and the light has to be adjusted...I have had similar experiences....but keep at it, you will get them to bloom again..

• Christine
    14 years ago

Don't get too discouraged. The violets may just be taking a short break as they adjust to their new living conditions. The link below has lots of tips on how to get African Violets blooming. You can compare what you're doing with the recommendations. Good luck. Your plants are healthy, so I bet you'll see buds before too long.

Here is a link that might be useful: Why Won't My Violets Bloom?

• tommyr_gw Zone 6
    14 years ago

I agree with Donna. Give them time to adjust. AND read that link!

You'll be fine! Congrats on your AVs!

• avalonON
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank-you bonniejune and donna c for your encouragement and the link to Why Won't My Violets Bloom?

I will follow Joyce Stork's advice carefully, try to be patient, and maybe even resort to the thump!

• haxuan
    14 years ago