Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
empress012

Hello!!! New and addicted~

Empress012
11 years ago

I am just getting started in the AV world. I owned one no name variety that bloomed prolifically for me back in middle school until it succumbed to crown rot. After that I was (and am still) caught up in an orchid frenzy.

Anyways, I wanted to get back into AVs because they are so much simpler and easier than my orchids are. And it would be nice to be rewarded every once in a while for my hard work. ^^;;

Anyways, I started but buying leaf cuttings off of ebay as my AV selection here in SoCal is next to non-existent. And I lost most of the 23 leaves I got (it was actually 13 varieties but I got doubles and sometimes triples). And by most I do mean half, and then the remaining either haven't given me babies or they did and then I killed the babies...

On another forum I was suggested to try with a cheapie AV and find a successful growth formula that works for me. I thought that was a great idea! But now I can't find AV anywhere!

So I was wondering, if anyone would be wanting to send me some leaf cuttings to play around with? I would pay for postage, if that helps. OR! If you're familiar with the Orange County area, maybe you could point me the right direction?

Thanks so much for helping a gal out. It is really appreciated! And any pointers, suggestions, or otherwise is always greatly appreciated.

The AV I am currently (trying) to grow:

- Ness' Satin Rose

- Mystic Green

- Cool Blue

- Little Ebony

- Trinket Summer Skies

- Bud's Melanie

- Whiff O Green

- Frozen in Time

- Pretty Poison

(I really like the green flowered varieties. So if you know of any green flowered varieties please share their names so I can go and hunt for them!)

Here is a link that might be useful: My Folia: African Violet Garden

Comments (36)

• irina_co
    11 years ago

Empress - welcome -

the best I can do is to recommend to check with a local club.