Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
syrcais

Watering AVs with fish tank water.

wendync
13 years ago

So I read that fish tank water could be beneficial to plants, so all the other houseplants get it when I water. If I use fish tank water, however, do I still need to use plant foods and supplements to support the blooms or is the fish tank water enough by itself?

Comments (9)

• quimoi
    13 years ago

You know, I wouldn't use it on my violets because I'd be afraid of other bacteria or something else. Maybe it's a groundless fear.

I don't think it would be a complete fertilizer, any more than manure is for outdoor plants. JMO.

If something is thriving with it, I'm not suggesting you quit. I do things to my coleus that I don't with the violets.

• junebabe
    13 years ago

Hello, I'm just a novice caretaker of a medium collection of AVS but playing around with fishwater is something I did a few years ago. I had several inside aquariums and outside a big garden pool. I always used fish water on my AVs...with much success. But I think it was the sunwarmed soft conditioned quality about the water the AVs liked.

I would use other fertilizers per the recommended strength. Only if you were using water siphoned off the bottom of an inside tank would this water have much strength as a fertilizer IMHO Welcome to African Violets and to this forum; there are a great many experts here that can help you. junebabe, Smiles, Linda

• quimoi
    13 years ago

After thinking this over and reading Linda's post, I think one issue is that you have no idea as to the strength, etc., you are giving them. I assume it might vary quite a bit.

Diana

• cork_oh
    13 years ago

You could try it on one of your AV's as a test. Then post your results here for the rest of us.
    Thanks

• quimoi
    13 years ago