Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvofroses

Very Strange to Me

luvofroses
14 years ago

I bought a Ma's Ching Dynasty from the Violet Barn. I put down 2 leaves in separate cups and baggies. One baggie has little mouse ears while the other has a new leaf growing off of the mother leaf. What is happening to this one? Is this somethng that happens and how do I treat this leaf that is now a fair size growing out of the top of the mother? While I am still very new to violets I have put down a few leaves but not ever seen this nor have I read about this. Thank you so very much for any insight

Ann in So UT

Comments (19)

• dognapper2
    14 years ago

New to me as well, although I have this happening to 2 right now - Pink Lady & Bashful. I've seen pictures of it happening - but I don't know if I've ever seen a follow-up picture for when it was time to divide & conquer! I think we must need to let them develop really well and then treat as if it were a crown without roots.
    Will be interesting to watch at any rate!

• nwgatreasures
    14 years ago

is it just one single leaf growing off the mother leaf or are there some other ones coming up with it (even if smaller size)?

Just let it grow for a few more weeks and see if an identifiable crown begins to develop. I have found that some leaves have different levels of 'energy' and produce differently - the only way to know is to let time run it's course.

Dora

• okie_deb
    14 years ago

The closest I've seen to this problem was on a site the lady has some plantlets emerge from below soil like normal but had a couple plantlets growing on the beginning of the stem where it meets the leaf. She said she would be letting the soil plantlets mature and then remove them and lower the leaf down to the soil so the higher plantlets could root in.
    The site didn't continue on about this method to say if she was successful.