Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missschultz

Propagation gone wild

missschultz
11 years ago

Hi, i am only a newbie to both the forum and AV's, but i have planted a few leaves to propagate, and most grew as i would expect them to, but one of my little plants has grown wild, shooting leaves from every angle. I am wondering if i have done something right/wrong with this one, or if there is something else going on here. They were all planted at the same time in the same soil and kept in the same place.

The one on the left is what i assume is growing normal, and the one on the right is growing from infront of the 2 mother leaves, behind them, under them and all around them too.

Thanks.

Comments (25)

• irina_co
    11 years ago

Both of your pots have more than one new plant. The one on the left - 2, the one on the right - several. You need to separate them. Each leaf can give you 1-10 babies, and you do not grow them in the same pot - you select the strongest ones - toss the weak - and pot them individually.

Good Job

Irina

• missschultz
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for your reply. Both pots had 2 leaves planted in them, so one must have just grown more than the other.
    So when can I repot these plants? Do they have to grow to a certain size? I'm sure the one on the left is good to go, but wondering about the one on the right.

• perle_de_or
    11 years ago

They look great and definitely ready to separate into their own pots.

• aviolet6
    11 years ago

also for individual plants your pots will need to be much smaller than the ones in your picture. especially since your plants are still small. two inch pots are good. these are solo cup size or just use the solo cups (adding holes in bottom for drainage).

• missschultz
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for everyone's help and advice. I know i've got one AV pot around here somewhere, so i will have to find a couple more little pots :)

• aviolet6
    11 years ago