Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snappyguy

Lighting question

snappyguy
14 years ago

With winter coming and my violets being in a north-facing window they weren't getting enough light. I just installed 2- 48 inch 40W Phillips grow T12 fluorescent tubes for a total of 80W. They are about 16 inches off of the plants. My light meter says the plants are only getting about 100 foot-candles of light. Does this sound right or is my light meter giving a bad reading?

Thanks,

Mark

Comments (17)

• rambler24
    14 years ago

Mark,
    Im not sure about your light meter as I have never used one, but I have used the exact same set up as you with my plants around the same distance away for a few years now. I have my violets under the lights year round and they have thrived.

• fred_hill
    14 years ago

Hi Mark,
    I have been using 40W cool white bulbs for my av's for many years now and I keep the tops of the plants about 12 inches below the bulbs. I keep the lights on for 10 hours but when I am preparing them for show, I increase the length of time gradually by one hour till they get to 12 hours.
    Fred in nj

• bspofford
    14 years ago

Hi, Mark,

I checked a couple of my books for foot candle requirements, and apparently 100 or less is not sufficient for blooming. They recommend about 800fc. Anything higher will scorch leaves, etc.

I have my lights about 12 inches from the top of the plant (standards) to the tube, and it works well. 6-8 inches for minis is working well also.

You may want to re-measure with a 12 inch distance and see what you come up with, and adjust accordingly.

Barbara

• snappyguy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks everyone for your responses.