Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raven_ladybug

Greetings... my journey thus far.

raven_ladybug
14 years ago

Hello everyone. I am new to your wonderful forum and would like to introduce myself.

My journey thus far...

About 2 years ago I found a cute little violet in my local market and brought "her" home. To my surprise and delight she thrived for me in my little garden window over my kitchen sink. Eventually she became constantly covered with masses of breathtakingly beautiful flowers. They were white and sparkled exactly like the top of frosty snow does and were edged with a lovely purple on each petal. I often got the feeling that I was glimpsing some lovely treasure that should be nestled under a canopy of dense forest near a waterfall in some remote jungle. I even found myself giving her a name, Eve. My husband and son even took note of her. Neither one had ever even seemed to notice any of my other plants. It did my heart good to watch their faces change to a kind of puzzled awe when they noticed her "That one is kind of neat...What is it?"

I had never repotted her in the over a year that I had had her. I was afraid to change anything, afraid I would break the magic spell and hurt her. Eventually though, she had become to top heavy and would sometimes even tip over because of it. By now she had three crowns, each on long maybe 4 inch necks... (blush) ... Well I did not know about such things yet... I decided I would see if I could find anything out about repotting African Violets on the net before I tackled the job. Wow, what a lot of wonderful information I found on this site and others! I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of you for your kindness in answering peoples question here. It has created such a wealth of knowledge for people like me.