Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
perle_de_or

Cirelda Will Not Grow

perle_de_or
11 years ago

Hi all, My Cirelda will just not grow. No signs of anything wrong, but it just sits there. I got it back in Aug. Its still the same size. I disbudded it hoping that would help. My planting mix is half Miracle Gro AV soil and half perlite. Both have fertilizer, so I have not fertilized the plant. I am a novice with trailers and semis. I repotted into a small shallow container a week ago. I didn't see any kind of bugs or other problems. A leaf I took from it is producing babies. Thanks for any input.

Comments (5)

• ima_digger
    11 years ago

I had Cerelda, but it died. I started it in a 3 oz solo cup. It was doing great so I repotted into a shallow pot. From there it went downhill. I had put a layer of perlite in the bottom. I don't think it got enough water. It was wicked over a grid. When I emptied the pot after it died, the perlite was like cement on the bottom of the pot. I don't think I will use perlite on the bottom anymore.

• perle_de_or
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I don't use the perlite in the bottom method either. I agree it seems to make a cement like layer. I flushed the soil with a weak fertilizer (dyna gro) solution and put it under a dome. Hope to see something happen! I think I might have been keeping the soil too dry for some reason. I was also thinking maybe I shouldn't have disbudded her. I am new with trailing varieties, so I am probably making mistakes. But I also have Rob's Sticky Wicket, which to me is a similar plant, and it seems to be a very strong plant. I rooted from a leaf and the babies are looking great.

• ima_digger
    11 years ago