Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikelaff

Limp leaf cuttings

mikelaff
9 years ago

Hello,

I'm new to propagating african violets by leaf cutting, and I've run into a problem. I'm hoping an experienced grower may offer some advice. I ordered a set of leaves from lyndon lyon, planted them in 50% store bought AV mix 50% vermiculite, and placed them in a covered propagation tray in a bright window. Four weeks later, they have rooted nicely. With that first success, I ordered a second set and set them up the same way. Three days after planting the second set, I noticed a few of the leaves turned limp. The leaves have no irregular coloring or noticeable rot.

In searching online, the only advice I've seen for this situation is that sometimes this happens, the leaves will die, and simply move on to the next cutting. But I don't want to give up on these leaves. From what I gather, leaves go limp when they aren't getting the right amount of water. In a full grown plant this appears to be a symptom of under watering, over watering, or root rot. In a leaf cutting 3 days old, I don't know how any of these could be the reason for my limp leaves.

The only idea I have is to re-trim the petiole and either float them in water or re-plant them in a different growing medium. My AV book says 100% vermiculite may work. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Has this ever happened to you? Thank you in advance!

-Mike

Comments (2)

• fortyseven_gw
    9 years ago

Hi,
    Could be the vermiculite trapped too much moisture so the petiole could not breathe. Also, the petiole should not be too long.
    Two suggestions, use spring water and use perlite, not vermiculite. Recut the petiole, revive by floating the entire leaf in a small bowl of water to which you add a healthy pinch of sugar. let them stay for several hours until they are crisp. Then replant in a mix of 60% perlite, 40% potting medium. If you use vermiculite, add just a pinch.