Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annececilia

Those irresistable grocery store NOIDs

AnneCecilia z5 MI
13 years ago

I find it so very hard to resist them. There they are in the front of the store, so bright, so cheerfully blooming. I always have to look and see if there is one that is unlike anything else I have. At this rate, I'll never have a collection of named varieties; I have too many NOIDS and no more room! Still, how could I refuse this pretty face with a $2 price tag? Guess since I don't ever intend to show it doesn't matter. I just like the *knowing* (of the name) but this one I'll never have a clue because it had no tag, no marking, not even the nursery name.

{{gwi:380023}}
I need to take it downstairs and re-pot it, then move it upstairs into quarantine. Sweet, isn't it?

Comments (17)

• contrarymarypat
    13 years ago

Very pretty..... can't believe it was only $2

Mary

• azpedsrn
    13 years ago

It is pretty! I have been growing African Violets for several years and I am finally realizing the violets I get from local stores grow much better for me. Sometimes it does seem to be a little harder to convince them to bloom, but the plants just grow better. I don't know why that is. Anymore, if I like them, I buy them, and like you, I often end up with two or three new plants after repotting :)

• quimoi
    13 years ago

It is pretty. I got some a couple of nice ones at the grocery store in the period where I wasn't really growing them.

Although I suppose there's already one called that, you could just call them Irrestible (Irrestible1, Irrestible2, etc.). If you keep records, you really can't call them all NOID. I have mini b/w dbl and that is a danged awkward plant name, lol. Maybe it's a semi but Lowes had 3 at one time and, as far as I know, no one found a name or hybridizer.