Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okie_deb

Question on sports...

okie_deb
14 years ago

How does one know their plant sported?

If you had seen a true bloom cycle and then the flowers changed,,,that I can understand. But what if you've not bloomed the violet before and it blooms and it's wrong. How do you know it's sported and not just a mislabeled plant?

This is probably a silly question but I'm new to all this.,,,Debbie

Comments (6)

• bspofford
    14 years ago

Debbie,

If you haven't had the plant bloom at all, you really don't know if it sported or was mislabeled. Not a silly question at all.

Barbara

• fred_hill
    14 years ago

You can check number of sites for a picture of the plant. If it differs from that it has either sported or been mislabled. Depending on where you got the plant you can ask the originator if it looks like any other planats they have.
    Fred in NJ

• okie_deb
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I do know there is a list of some sports that are known. I'm sure there are more that aren't on that list though.
    I guess the question arose when I was looking in a foreign Ebay at pictures and it showed a white wasp flower for Lunar Lily but description has it as: Lunar Lily (Dates) Single wasp shaped pink and white flowers. Medium green hairy bustle leaves. This was a pure white flower with no pink what so ever. It was a clear close up. So made me wonder if it had sported possibly or if it was mislabeled. haha.
    Not my plant and I couldn't buy it but my friend was interested in it. She lived in the country it was being auctioned in. I told her it had either sported or was mislabeled. Being it was a wasp she didn't care. haha.
    Thanks Barb and Fred for responding!,,,,Debbie

Here is a link that might be useful: African Violet Sports

• dognapper2
    14 years ago